Yuh is a Swiss finance app that brings together payments, savings and investments. A Yuh account can be opened free of charge from a smartphone. Banking services are provided by Swissquote Bank Ltd, which bought PostFinance's stake in Yuh in July 2025.

Launched as a start-up in 2021, Yuh presents itself as an all-in-one app: a free account, a free Mastercard, TWINT and eBill. On top of that come goal-based savings, stock market and crypto investments, and a pillar 3a. The information below comes from Yuh's website, accessed on 27 October 2026. Yuh is one of the apps we follow in our section on neobanks in Switzerland.

Who is behind the Yuh app?

Yuh was born as a joint venture between Swissquote and PostFinance. In July 2025, Swissquote bought out PostFinance's stake. Yuh thus became a company fully integrated into the Swissquote group.

The parent company is no newcomer. Swissquote has been active in online banking and trading since 1996. Yuh describes its mission as follows: managing your money simply and affordably, by bringing payments, savings and investments together in a single app.

Yuh claims more than 400,000 users, whom it calls "Yuhsers". It also presents itself as "the #1 Swiss finance app". Both claims come from the company itself, with no details on how users are counted.

How do you open a Yuh account?

A Yuh account is opened entirely within the app, in three steps:

  • download the app from the App Store, the Google Play Store or Huawei AppGallery;
  • create your account;
  • top up your account.

Yuh asks for four things: a smartphone, an identity document, a utility bill and network coverage. Sign-up is free.

What can you pay with Yuh?

The Yuh account is first and foremost for everyday payments. It includes a free Mastercard, access to TWINT, bill payment via eBill, and Apple Pay. Yuh also mentions "built-in insurance", without detailing its coverage on its home page.

The card comes in two forms:

  • Virtual card: it is activated in the app, under "Pay" then "Card". It can be added to your mobile payment methods.
  • Physical card: it is ordered in the same place. Yuh announces delivery within 10 working days.

If the card is lost, it can be temporarily blocked from the "Pay" tab, then "Card" and "Card settings". It can be unblocked the same way if you find it again. If the card is stolen, Yuh advises calling its customer service on +41 44 825 87 89. A new physical card costs 20 francs.

How do you save and invest with Yuh?

Yuh offers goal-based savings. The user sets a goal, such as a trip, automates their payments and tracks their progress in the app.

For investments, the app gives access to several product families:

  • shares;
  • exchange-traded funds (ETFs), also in the form of savings plans;
  • digital assets, in other words cryptos;
  • "trending themes".

Yuh also hands out its own crypto reward, the Swissqoin. You earn it by using the app. You can then sell, share or keep it.

These products do not carry the same level of risk. This article describes Yuh's offering and does not constitute investment advice.

What does Yuh offer for pillar 3a and joint accounts?

Yuh offers a pillar 3a with five investment strategies. Fees are advertised as a flat 0.5%. The home page does not specify whether this rate is annual or whether it includes fund fees.

The Yuh&Me joint account is free. It is aimed at couples, flatmates and anyone in Switzerland who shares common expenses, such as rent or groceries.

How much does a Yuh account cost?

The account and the Mastercard are free, according to Yuh. The company says it applies a simple principle: no fees where possible, low fees where they are necessary. It says its model is built on the absence of commissions.

Two specific amounts appear on its home page:

  • 20 francs for a new physical card;
  • a flat fee of 0.5% for pillar 3a.

Other fees are detailed in Yuh's price list.

Is Yuh a bank, and is my money protected?

Yuh is not a bank as such. All the banking and financial services in the app are provided by Swissquote Bank Ltd. This Swiss bank is supervised by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA).

Customers therefore benefit from the protections of Swiss banking law. Deposit insurance covers up to 100,000 francs if the bank goes bankrupt.

One point matters for anyone who also holds a Swissquote account. Yuh and Swissquote are treated as a single entity. The 100,000-franc coverage therefore applies to all the funds held in the same person's Yuh and Swissquote accounts combined, not to each one separately.

How does Yuh compare with other offerings in Switzerland?

Regulatory status sets apart the finance apps operating in Switzerland. Revolut has more than 1.3 million users in Switzerland, according to finews.ch, as cited by 2clics in October 2026. It does not yet hold its own banking licence there and applied to FINMA for one in September 2026, as noted in our article on Revolut Ventures in Switzerland. The same neobank saw its card payments disrupted on 20 October 2026, during a Google Cloud outage in London.

For pillar 3a, fees vary from one provider to another. In October 2026, findependent launched a third pillar with fees of 0.29% a year, fund fees included. According to the company, established digital providers charge between 0.39% and 0.45%.

CriterionYuhRevolutfindependent
Announced usersMore than 400,000 (according to Yuh, October 2026)More than 1.3 million in Switzerland (according to finews.ch, October 2026)More than 30,000 app customers (according to findependent, October 2026)
Status in SwitzerlandServices provided by Swissquote Bank Ltd, supervised by FINMANo Swiss banking licence; application filed in September 2026Own pension foundation for pillar 3a
Pillar 3a feesFlat 0.5%Not disclosed0.29% a year, fund fees included

This table compares figures announced by the companies or by the press, at similar dates. It measures neither the quality of service nor investment returns.

Key figures

  • 1996: Swissquote, Yuh's parent company, begins operating.
  • 2021: Yuh launches as a start-up.
  • July 2025: Swissquote buys PostFinance's stake in Yuh.
  • More than 400,000 users, according to Yuh (website accessed on 27 October 2026).
  • 100,000 francs: deposit insurance ceiling, for Yuh and Swissquote combined.
  • 0.5%: flat fee advertised for pillar 3a, with five strategies.
  • 20 francs: price of a new physical card.
  • 10 working days: announced delivery time for the physical card.

What we don't know yet

  • Whether the 0.5% pillar 3a fee is annual and whether it includes fund fees.
  • What the account's "built-in insurance" covers.
  • How securities, cryptos and pillar 3a assets are treated in the event of bankruptcy: the guarantee presented applies to deposits, up to 100,000 francs.
  • What Swissquote's full takeover in July 2025 concretely changes for customers, beyond becoming part of the group.
  • The method behind the figure of more than 400,000 users, and whether it refers to opened or active accounts.

Sources