The fees of a robo-advisor in Switzerland are made up of several items: the management fee, fund costs (TER, for total expense ratio), the federal stamp duty and currency exchange. According to their pricing pages, consulted between 2 and 6 November 2026, the online managers VIAC Invest, True Wealth, Selma Finance and Swissquote Invest Easy charge from 0.25% to 0.68% a year for management alone. Fund costs come on top, from 0.08% to 0.27% depending on the published strategies.

Depending on the provider, stamp duty and currency exchange are either included in the flat fee or charged on top. How this automated wealth management works, how it is supervised and where its limits lie are covered in our feature on Swiss robo-advisors.

Which items make up a robo-advisor's fees?

Felix Niederer, founder and CEO of the online wealth manager True Wealth, reviews around ten items in an article on the company's blog dated 16 May 2024. Six of them weigh on an automated management mandate:

  • Management fee: an annual percentage of assets, for selecting the funds and rebalancing.
  • Product costs (TER): deducted each year from the funds' assets, often listed index funds (ETFs, for exchange-traded funds). The investor receives no bill; they bear these costs in the form of a lower return.
  • Custody fees and brokerage: charged by the bank for holding the securities account and executing orders. True Wealth, Selma and VIAC include them in their flat fee.
  • Stamp duty: a federal tax levied on the purchase and sale of securities.
  • Currency exchange: a margin charged when a fund is bought in a currency other than the franc.
  • Spread between purchase and sale prices: not a bill, but a loss of return. True Wealth estimates it at around 0.10% of the volume traded, on average.

How much do the main Swiss services charge?

The table sets out the rates published by five providers on their official pages, consulted between 2 and 6 November 2026. It is neither a ranking nor a recommendation.

ServiceManagement fee per yearProduct costs per yearStamp dutyCurrency exchange
True Wealth0.50% up to 500,000 francs, 0.25 to 0.50% above; 0% for pillar 3aAround 0.12% (global portfolio) and 0.21% (sustainable), figures from May 2024On top: 0.075 to 0.15% on ETFsAround 0.10%, charged by the custodian banks
Selma0.68% below 50,000 francs, 0.55% up to 150,000, 0.47% up to 500,000, 0.42% above0.22% on averageOn top: 0.075 to 0.15% per transactionOn top: 0.25% on average per transaction
VIAC Invest0.25% “all-inclusive”0.09 to 0.27% depending on the standard strategyIncludedIncluded
Swissquote Invest Easy0.60%0.08 to 0.19% depending on the strategyNot specified on the pricing page0.95% on a deposit in a currency other than the franc
PostFinance e-asset management0.75% from 0 francs, 0.70% from 250,000, 0.65% from 500,000, 0.60% from 1 millionNot quantified on the offer pageNot specifiedNot specified

At Selma Finance, a Zurich fintech, the tier is calculated on the client's total amount, deposits and gains included. The entry threshold is 2,000 francs, or 500 francs for pillar 3a. According to the pricing page, the flat fee covers “all trading and banking fees” and the Swiss tax statement.

VIAC, a Basel fintech, presents its 0.25% as a flat fee that includes custody, transactions, currency exchange, stamp duties, value added tax (VAT) and the electronic tax statement. The company charges nothing on uninvested cash. Its stated minimum investment is 1 franc.

True Wealth includes brokerage, custody, rebalancing, deposits and withdrawals, the tax statement and VAT in its fees.

The online bank Swissquote applies 0.60% to its four Invest Easy strategies, from “cautious” to “bold”. Product-related costs range from 0.19% for the cautious strategy to 0.08% for the bold one. The minimum deposit is 500 francs.

PostFinance, the financial institution of the Swiss Post group, calculates its fees on the average assets invested, investment account included, with a minimum of 5,000 francs. The institution nevertheless points out that its e-asset management “is not a robo-advisory solution”: the analysis of its investment committee, made up of people, still plays a key role. For details of the fees, the page refers to a price list for investments in PDF.

What do you pay on 100,000 francs invested?

The following figures are 2clics calculations based on the published rates, for a full year and stable assets of 100,000 francs.

ServiceManagement feeProduct costsTotal per year, excluding stamp duty and exchange
True Wealth500 francsAround 120 francs (global portfolio, May 2024 rate)Around 620 francs
Selma550 francsAround 220 francs (average)Around 770 francs
VIAC Invest250 francs90 to 270 francs340 to 520 francs, stamp duty and exchange included
Swissquote Invest Easy600 francs80 to 190 francs680 to 790 francs
PostFinance e-asset management750 francsNot quantified on the offer pageAt least 750 francs

This calculation leaves out stamp duty and currency exchange, except at VIAC, where they are part of the flat fee. The tiers change the gap as the amount grows: above 500,000 francs, Selma moves to 0.42% and True Wealth announces 0.25 to 0.50% depending on the sum, while VIAC and Swissquote keep a single rate.

How much does stamp duty cost?

According to the Federal Tax Administration (FTA), the securities transfer stamp duty amounts to 1.5‰ for Swiss securities and 3.0‰ for foreign securities. It is calculated on the price paid on purchase or received on sale. The securities dealer acting as intermediary owes half the duty for each non-exempt party: for the client, this comes to 0.075% or 0.15% of the amount traded.

The FTA expressly classes asset managers among the securities dealers subject to this duty, in the same way as banks. In 2020, the securities transfer stamp duty brought in around 1.516 billion francs, according to the same page.

The type of fund changes the bill. True Wealth indicates 0.075% for an ETF domiciled in Switzerland, 0.15% for a foreign ETF and 0% for Swiss index funds. The FTA, for its part, exempts the issuance of securities, with the exception of units in foreign investment funds.

The duty is paid on every purchase and every sale, as Selma points out. The first investment of 100,000 francs in foreign ETFs would thus cost 150 francs in stamp duty, at the rate of 0.15%. Each payment and each rebalancing then triggers new charges.

What does currency exchange cost?

A fund listed in a currency other than the franc requires a conversion, notes True Wealth, which says it takes no margin of its own on exchange. Its custodian banks apply around 10 basis points on the interbank rate, i.e. around 0.10% of the amount converted, and reserve the right to change this rate.

Selma announces an exchange cost of 0.25% on average per transaction. Swissquote converts deposits made in dollars, euros or pounds into francs, with a commission of 0.95%. VIAC includes currency exchange in its flat fee.

Which fees remain outside the flat fee?

At True Wealth and at Selma, the funds' TER comes on top of the flat fee, along with stamp duty and currency exchange.

Retrocessions, the commissions paid by fund providers to distributors, are absent from the three offers that mention them. True Wealth and VIAC say they receive none, and PostFinance only uses funds without distribution fees.

Exiting is in principle included. At Selma, withdrawing money or closing the account incurs no fees, but the sale and the transfer can take up to a week. VIAC charges nothing for deposits, withdrawals or closure. At True Wealth, however, the pension foundation charges processing fees for “unusually complex” pillar 3a withdrawals.

Other 2clics articles on digital wealth management can be found in the wealth management and robo-advisors section.

Key figures

  • 0.25% to 0.68%: annual management fees published by VIAC Invest, True Wealth, Selma and Swissquote for unrestricted savings (pages consulted from 2 to 6 November 2026).
  • 0.08% to 0.27%: product costs announced by Swissquote and VIAC depending on the strategy.
  • 1.5‰ and 3.0‰: securities transfer stamp duty on Swiss and foreign securities, according to the FTA, i.e. 0.075% and 0.15% payable by the client.
  • 0.95%: Swissquote's commission for converting a foreign-currency deposit into francs.
  • 1 franc, 500 francs, 2,000 francs and 5,000 francs: minimum investments stated by VIAC Invest, Swissquote Invest Easy, Selma and PostFinance.

What uncertainties remain about these rates?

  • Swissquote does not specify, on its Invest Easy pricing page, whether stamp duty and exchange between funds are included in its 0.60%.
  • Product costs change: Swissquote warns that its own “are subject to change”, and the TER cited by True Wealth dates from May 2024.
  • True Wealth's custodian banks can change their exchange margins, according to the company's frequently asked questions.

Sources